Lifestyle Uncategorized

10 Books to Read This Fall

Hi Kate the (Almost) Great readers! I’m Jenn, and I blog over at hellorigby! about life, fashion, beauty, and what I’m reading. My blog is named after my dog, so of course he makes a guest appearance every once and awhile too.

Something I’m slightly addicted to is reading. You’ll know this if you’re friends with me on Goodreads, as my To-Be-Read list far exceeds my read list. Oops. But with cool weather impending, there’s nothing like curling up with a good book and a cup of coffee (or cocoa, if you’re not into the hard stuff) on a cool fall day, right?

With that said, I thought I’d share with you 10 books hitting the top of my to read list for Fall 2014. I’ll warn you in advance, my taste can be quite varied, but stay tuned because I think there’s a little something for everyone.

10 Books to Read this Fall

10 Books I’ll Be Reading This Fall

    Mr Kiss and Tell Veronica Mars by Rob Thomas Jennifer Graham
  1. Mr. Kiss and Tell (Veronica Mars #2) by Rob Thomas and Jennifer Graham
  2. Okay, honestly, does this really need a description? If this is our first time meeting, you may not know that I never watched Veronica Mars during its original airtime, instead I was stuck in The OC. I rediscovered it this year, and watched the whole thing in a ridiculously short amount of time. Anyways, what I’m getting at here is that I’ve read the first book, and I must have this, and if you haven’t happened upon Neptune, well, what are you waiting for?

    Add it on Goodreads

    I'll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson
  3. I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson


  4. “Jude and her brother, Noah, are incredibly close twins. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude surfs and cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and divisive ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as an unpredictable new mentor. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.”
    This has already been optioned for a movie. Must mean its going to be good, right?

    Add it on Goodreads

      Rooms by Lauren Oliver
    1. Rooms by Lauren Oliver


    2. “The New York Times bestselling author of Before I Fall and the Delirium trilogy makes her brilliant adult debut with this mesmerizing story in the tradition of The Lovely Bones, Her Fearful Symmetry, and The Ocean at the End of the Lane—a tale of family, ghosts, secrets, and mystery, in which the lives of the living and the dead intersect in shocking, surprising, and moving ways.”
      While I haven’t read anything by Lauren Oliver before, the cover and the description caught my attention. I was a huge fan of the Lovely Bones when it came out many moons ago, and there’s nothing like a good ghost story, especially with Halloween right around the corner.

      Add it on Goodreads

        Get Even by Gretchen McNeil
      1. Get Even by Gretchen McNeil


      2. “The Breakfast Club meets Pretty Little Liars in Gretchen McNeil’s witty and suspenseful novel about four disparate girls who join forces to take revenge on high school bullies and create dangerous enemies for themselves in the process.”
        The Breakfast Club is one of my all-time favorite movies, so let’s hope this lives up the hype.

        Add it on Goodreads

          Salt and Storm by Kendall Kulper
        1. Salt & Storm by Kendall Kulper


        2. “Sixteen-year-old Avery Roe wants only to take her rightful place as the witch of Prince Island, making the charms that keep the island’s whalers safe at sea, but her mother has forced her into a magic-free world of proper manners and respectability. When Avery dreams she’s to be murdered, she knows time is running out to unlock her magic and save herself.”


          Add it on Goodreads

          Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty
        3. Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty


        4. “A murder… . . . a tragic accident… . . . or just parents behaving badly? What’s indisputable is that someone is dead. But who did what? Big Little Lies follows three women, each at a crossroads. A brilliant take on ex-husbands and second wives, mothers and daughters, schoolyard scandal, and the dangerous little lies we tell ourselves just to survive.”


          Add it on Goodreads

          Anatomy of a Misfit by Andrea Portes
        5. Anatomy of a Misfit by Andrea Portes


        6. “This emotional, hilarious, devastating, and ultimately triumphant YA debut, based on actual events, recounts one girl’s rejection of her high school’s hierarchy—and her discovery of her true self in the face of tragedy.”

          Add it on Goodreads

          Broken Monsters by Lauren Beukes
        7. Broken Monsters by Lauren Beukes


        8. “New York Times bestselling author Lauren Beukes returns with her next smash crossover thriller. Detective Gabriella Versado has seen a lot of bodies. But this one is unique even by Detroit’s standards; half-boy, half-deer, somehow fused. The cops nickname him “Bambi,” but as stranger and more disturbing bodies are discovered, how can the city hold on to a reality that is already tearing at its seams?”


          Add it on Goodreads

            Lies We Tell Ourselves by Robin Talley
          1. Lies We Tell Ourselves by Robin Talley


          2. “In 1959 Virginia, the lives of two girls on opposite sides of the battle for civil rights will be changed forever. Sarah Dunbar is one of the first black students to attend the previously all-white Jefferson High School. Linda Hairston is the daughter of one of the town’s most vocal opponents of school integration. She has been taught all her life that the races should be kept “separate but equal.” Forced to work together on a school project, Sarah and Linda must confront harsh truths about race, power and how they really feel about one another.”


            Add it on Goodreads

              Not That Kind of Girl by Lena Dunham
            1. Not That Kind of Girl by Lena Dunham


            2. “For readers of Nora Ephron, Tina Fey, and David Sedaris, this hilarious, poignant, and extremely frank collection of personal essays confirms Lena Dunham—the acclaimed creator, producer, and star of HBO’s Girls—as one of the brightest and most original writers working 
              today.”
              Lena just seems like a cool chick, and I’m sure this book is killer. Excited to read it.

              Add it on Goodreads

            Whew, that’s a lot of books! Hopefully at least one of these appeals to you, but if not you can always check out what I read in July or June to see some of my latest book picks.
            What have you been reading lately? Have any suggestions for my fall reading list? I’d love to hear them in the comments!

            Follow Jenn: bloglovin / twitter / instagram / pinterest / g+

            Previous Post Next Post

            You may also like

            9 Comments

          3. Reply Gayle

            This is awesome! Thank you for writing this; I am always on the hunt for more books. If you don't mind, I might just have to write my own list like this!

            August 14, 2014 at 12:23 pm
            • Reply Gayle

              ^Sorry! Guess I could have left that comment on Jenn's blog. Hope she sees it!

              August 14, 2014 at 12:24 pm
            • Reply Jenn @ hellorigby!

              I do see them! I will be responding to them via email tonight 🙂

              August 15, 2014 at 5:50 pm
          4. Reply Tori

            I definitely want to read that one by Lena Dunham!

            August 14, 2014 at 12:50 pm
          5. Reply Call it Adventure

            Aaaaaaand up goes my list of books I want to read! Thanks for this list, I will definitely be adding most all of them to my own haha. P.S. Veronica Mars is THE BEST THING EVER and is the point at which I originally wanted to be Kristen Bell's bestie. So you rock.

            August 14, 2014 at 4:04 pm
          6. Reply Style Sprinter

            Thanks for the great list – I will definitely check some of the books.

            http://stylesprinter.com/

            August 14, 2014 at 5:30 pm
          7. Reply Sarah @ Seriously, Sarah?

            Love it! Of course, I always love a good list and books. So book lists are the best 🙂 I've been on a huge Liane Moriarty kick recently. I can finish them in like 2 days.

            August 14, 2014 at 11:01 pm
          8. Reply Cece

            Big Little Lies looks really good. I'm adding it to my Amazon wish list.

            August 19, 2014 at 9:07 pm
          9. Reply Marla Rogers

            LOVE these suggestions :]

            August 29, 2014 at 1:56 am
          10. Leave a Reply

            This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

            As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.